Day 30 – And Done!

6 Mar

Well, I’m a little late on this post because I got kind of lazy.

We finished our 30 day Vegan journey two nights ago with great success. I had to get up a little earlier than usual because I had a doctor’s appointment.  I got my results for my yearly checkup. Clean bill of health, I’m proud to say. Everything came out normal, even my blood pressure, which was a concern when I went in last (though he said it might have just been that particular day and me being stressed and tired). Well, this time around it was 120/61, normal. I doubt it’s because of the diet, but I’m sure it didn’t hurt.

Anyway, I didn’t eat before getting to the office, so I popped into Coop to grab something.  Pretty scarce on the vegan stuff.  Most of the bread has butter or cheese in it, unless I wanted to buy a huge loaf. I settled for a box of Dar-Vida. These are always good in a pinch. My mom turned me onto these.  She always has a bag of these in her purse. I had a few of them and a banana.

For lunch I had my scrumptious Raw Meal replacement shake and an apple later in the day.

My wife made some spinach pesto (modified version of this recipe, using nutritional yeast instead of Parmesan) with some Corniture vegan meatballs for dinner.  Very cheesy tasting and the added meatballs gave it a great finishing touch.  She served it over some tomato quinoa pasta, which we got from MagBio in Romanel. This quinoa pasta is gluten-free for those of you who have the allergy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It came out nice and cheesy.  One of the many great dishes we’ve experience along the way.  For dessert we had the leftover desert from the night before. Well, that’s about it for our last day!  We made it! Stay posted for a summary and thoughts post to come in the next days.

 

Leave a Reply

