Day 28

3 Mar

Saturday morning, I was up early, as usual.  My wife always sleeps in about an hour or two after me. I like that because it gives me 1-2 hours of video game time, which I take full advantage of.

When she got up, she asked if I would make chocolate chip pancakes. I obliged and did it with Bisquick and used almond milk and egg replacement and made sure the chips were vegan. On the weekends in the morning we like revisit our kid days.  So while eating breakfast we watched Heathcliff (a show both of us grew up watching on Saturday mornings).

For lunch we finished off the baba ghanoush and later had some popcorn while watching Snow White and the Huntsman.  Pretty entertaining flick, though Kristen Stewart can be a little annoying at times. Movie itself was entertaining, especially because I had low expectations.

For dinner, my wife made a soup and I wanted to try a new appetizer recipe that is in our 30 Minute Vegan book. They were the zucchini rolls which were made with tofu, tahini paste, nutritional yeast, olive oil and a bunch of herbs, baked quickly in the oven.

DSC_0097

They came out awesome, and I’m going to try the filling in stuffed mushrooms next time. It comes out with a very cheesy taste. I would love to share the recipe, but don’t want to infringe on anyone’s intellectual property. I do highly recommend this book though. So far all of the recipes we’ve tried have been good.

My wife’s meal she prepared was a modified version of “Frogmore Stew,” from Perfect One-Dish Dinners. She wasn’t too happy with it. Sometimes modifying recipes to be vegan is trial and error. This one tasted ok, but the lemon overpowered everything.  Probably because the meat that was supposed to go in there would balance out the flavor. I think with another go, it could be good, but we’ll try to move on to other recipes before doing that.

Well, that’s about all for today. Just two days left!

Leave a Reply

