Day 21 – Three weeks down!

24 Feb

Hi Guys!

Well, today marks the 3 week mark. Wow, three weeks without a single piece of cheese, slice of bacon, egg, tuna sandwich or creamer in my coffee! If you told me this a year ago, I would have said you are smoking some ganja. Honestly, I’m thinking of extending this experiment out to another two weeks.

My feelings right now, are that I probably will go back to eating meat and all, but on a very limited basis.  Probably one meal a week. Milk, likely even less. But who knows, I might fall back into it like in the past.  The advantage is that I have my wife who I know will at least be a vegetarian for the rest of her life, so home meals can always be vegetarian at least.

I’ve lost a little weight (about six pounds) and am sleeping better.  I don’t get so tired towards the end of the day at work and don’t need as much coffee to get started or push through the day. My skin did improve, as I said in an earlier post.  However, my seborrheic dermatitis did flare up a bit, though not to the same degree as usual. For now, I retract the claim that it helped my skin.

Okay!! Well on to the day. I started my day at around 7:30am. Had some coffee and some cold leftover pizza from the night before! Ah, my favorite weekend breakfast.  Reminds me of college.  Cold Pizza Hut pizza is the best though.  Home made pizza does not keep overnight as well.  It was good though.  Crispy, because the crust is so much thinner than a Pizza Hut pizza.

The wife and I went to the gym afterwards.  We are members at Let’s Go Fitness in Le Mont. It’s definitely one of the nicer and complete gyms around Lausanne, with many branches in the Lausanne area. Once home, we had lunch.  Leftovers from the week (vegetable soup, bean soup), and my wife tried the new Raw Meal replacement we ordered from iherb.com.  This one is vanilla flavored.  It tastes a little better than the stuff I keep at work. She mixed it with Tigernut milk and a kiwi in the blender.

We spent the next hour building IKEA furniture. I know the husband usually is in charge of putting together this stuff.  But, honestly, there were three different things to put together, and I didn’t feel like wasting too much time doing it.  I commissioned my wife to put together one of them, a simple night stand. She now has an appreciation of putting these things together (she knows it’s a pain in the ass)….actually she says “I have an appreciation for paying for real furniture so we don’t have to do this shit anymore!” That just made me smile and chuckle to myself.  Once she was done though, she seemed pretty proud of herself! The guest room is one more step closer to completion.

Next, since I’ve been working weekends the passed few weekends, we took the opportunity to snuggle up on the sofa and watch a movie with some popcorn. Recently, we bought an air popper from Fust for 20CHF. This really brings us back to when we were poor college kids, and our dates comprised largely of blockbuster nights at home with some air popped popcorn. We like the air popper because it is so simple, unlike kettle popcorn, and pops just about every kernel, which never happens with microwave popcorn.  This time, we set aside about a quarter of the popcorn and made some “hippie popcorn,” which is with margarine, salt and nutritional yeast. It was quite tasty after the third taste.  It has a cheesy taste to it, not too far from the cheddar flavor popcorn you can get in microwave form.  The movie was Contagian, which was a pretty thrilling movie.  It’s just scary to think that an epidemic could really just wipe out a huge part of the population given the right circumstances.

And lastly, for dinner, to celebrate our 3 weeks of vegans we treated ourselves to…drumrolllllllll:

Vegan cheese fondue!

We ordered the stuff from larada.org. We had two choices, Lord of Tofu – Bio Tofu-Fondue 200g and Vegusto: No-Muh- Fondue, 300g. The Vegusto stuff won the taste test hands down!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is as close as you can get to fondue w/out the real thing. We added a little mustard powder and onion salt. We also used apple and broccoli instead in addition to bread. One pack is not enough for two people, so you will probably have to serve side dish or get a pack per person (though 2 packs would probably serve 3 people adequately).

For dessert, we just had some seedless grapes…nothing exciting, sorry!

Well, that was our 3 week mark day! If you want to partake in some vegan fondue fun while this cold weather is still upon us.  Try the Vegusto No-Muh Fondue if you want cheesy stuff, or the Fondue Chinoise (like from day 8) option if you want more of a broth/soup type.  Either way, it’s a great way to eat when it’s freezing outside!

Good night!

2 Responses to “Day 21 – Three weeks down!”

  1. Amy July 16, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    Hi there!
    I have loved reading your 30 day vegan experience! I am an Aussie living in Lausanne and also trying to amp up my health; like you wife, going from veggo/pescetarian to vegan (most days) I have been loving it but I guess the difficulty for me is, I don’t speak the language, only English so, finding and asking for products can be a challenge! 🙂 how did you go following the 30 days? Would love to hear 🙂

    • dbrunner281 July 17, 2013 at 8:20 am #

      Glad you enjoyed it. Yes, even for a French speaker, it is hard to find a lot of products. It’s a matter of just looking around and eventually you get the hang of it.

      Following the 30 days, I did introduce meat, dairy and eggs back into my diet. Prior to the summer, I was about 85-90 percent vegan. Now that it’s summer and grilling season, I have to admit, I’m eating more animal products than usual. It’s summer and it’s so easy to be bad! I have made an effort to broaden my grilling repertoire and have found some great things to do. Grilled Avocado is one of my favorites so far!

      If you want to chat more, feel free to email me privately and we can discuss. Look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

