Day 15 – Halfway There

18 Feb

Hey everyone. 

Well, this weekend wasn’t much of a weekend at all.  I don’t feel rested.  It was way too busy.  First of all, my wife, who does dog walking, dog sitting and dog boarding with her little business Fuzzie Friends Lausanne.  She had four dogs to board this weekend.

 dogs

So, I promised to help her out this weekend.  However, I got called into work both days and for pretty much the whole day each time.  I helped when I could, but for most of the day she was on her own. 

As you can imagine, we didn’t have time to make any fancy meals that we do on the weekends, trying out new recipes and ingredients.  You can read how exciting Saturday (Day 14) was.  Sunday was even less exciting.  I woke up to my usual cereal and coffee. We then walked the dogs for a long walk.  Lot’s of poopscooping when you have four dogs.  This was the extent of my help to my wife on Sunday.  For lunch she made grilled vegan cheese and spinach sandwiches.  The vegan cheese is not stringy like good old regular cheese, but the flavor was pretty good.

I headed off to work for the next 8 hours, where I pretty much munched on an apple and a bag of peanuts I had bought in case I got hungry (good call!).  When I got home at 10pm, all the dogs were gone.  It felt so empty without them, but at least I had my wifey all to myself!  For dinner, I just had a bowl of leftover soup and a slice of whole wheat bread since it was so late. 

My wife also made some vegan brownies, but didn’t have sugar.  She looked into the vegan replacement book we have (The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions), which called for either molasses or agave.  She tried to replace it with molasses because she didn’t want to use up the last of the agave. However, we have that really thick, dark molasses, and the brownies came out extremely molassesy, for lack of a better word. It needs to be paired with something else to offset the pungent taste.  Maybe some coconut cream or something.  We’ll see. She’s pretty resourceful and I’m sure she’ll come up with something.  I guess it comes with the territory of being adventurous with food, trial and error.

Well, that was our weekend.  But, as compensation for all the work I managed to get some time off at the end of the week!  I’ll enjoy a longer weekend!

Halfway through the 30 days, and I have to say I feel good!  The one big change I’ve noticed, is that this problem I’ve had over the past years with the skin on my face, seborrheic dermatitis, has pretty much vanished.  This may be coincidence, or a result of the acupuncture I’ve been doing, but I’m not going to rule out that this might be a result of the diet too. I’m wondering if dairy was causing my flare-ups. If nothing comes up for the next 15 days, I think it’s a strong case for yes. 

In terms of energy, I’m not sleeping any more than I have in the past, but feel like I don’t get tired towards the end of the day like I used to. This may also be the placebo effect, but hey, I’m not gonna fret on it.

That’s it for now. Have a great start to the week everyone!

Leave a Reply

