Day 14

17 Feb

This Saturday was not you typical one.  I had to go to work at around 10am and didn’t leave till about 3:45.  So it was pretty much like a work day.  For breakfast I had toast with cashew butter and blackberry jelly.

For lunch I popped into the Coop next to the office to see what I could find. I really didn’t feel like having that shake. I found me some ready-made tabouli and multi-grain chips.

I had to go to Neuchatel for an acupuncture appointment, but managed to squeeze in a visit to the Migros in Neuchatel to grab some food.  I just grabbed a bunch of vegetables with no true plan.  I would figure it out when I got home.

I do like to cook, but only really have the weekend to do it. I kind of winged it this dinner.  I started off with a pesto recipe I found online.  I was lacking all the ingredients, so I improvised.  I used spinach in place of fresh basil.  Then, I added dried parsley, dried basil, toasted pine nuts, olive oil, cloves of garlic, sea salt, pepper and a healthy dose of nutritional yeast in place of parmesan. I blended this all up into a sauce.

I wanted something a little more than the “pesto.” So I sauteed some mushrooms and pre-steamed broccoli (2-3 minutes in the steamer) for a few minutes and then added the sauce and let it simmer for a bit.

I cooked some whole wheat pasta and served the sauce over this. To add some texture, I topped it with some pistachios (already shelled of course).  This recipe needs a little tweaking, but did it’s job, and that was to fill my belly.  It was tasty, but I’m going to try to mess around with it to see if I can make it better. The color makes weird though.  Very green:Image

If you have any suggestions for a good vegan pesto, let’s trade!

 

One Response to “Day 14”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 15 – Halfway There « 30 Day Vegan - February 18, 2013

    […] do on the weekends, trying out new recipes and ingredients.  You can read how exciting Saturday (Day 14) was.  Sunday was even less exciting.  I woke up to my usual cereal and coffee. We then walked […]

Leave a Reply

