Day 9

11 Feb

Almost one third of the way there. I feel like I’m really getting repetitive, but hey, I’m not really doing this for an audience. I’m just putting this here so that this might serve as a loose guide or just something to relate to for those who might want to take a similar challenge.  Or maybe even use it for encouragement. I hope it can be useful to others, but it’s really just a way for me to track my progress and have something to look back in a couple years, a nice little log of what I did.

Now, onto my day:

I started off the day at 7am and had a coffee (repetitive, like I said), and had…wait for it…something different…a peanut butter and banana sandwich! Banana is my favorite thing to put on peanut butter. I’m not a big fan of PB&J, but this stuff is great. If I wanted to be unhealthy I would have grilled it up in some butter, a la grilled cheese style. But no, it was healthy today.

The start of the workweek didn’t go well. Lot’s of snow and a very annoying commute. The trains were delayed due to an accident. Apparently a car crashed with the train? Didn’t hear much about it, but I definitely was affected by it. The train that I thought was early, because it was already sitting there at the station when I got there, was actually the train from a half hour earlier because it hadn’t moved because the accident a few miles ahead, had to be cleared. What we had was a packed train, Tokyo style! Not fun, especially because some people weren’t bathed, and I think one guy was coming back from a hard night of partying. He was the one pressed up against me, how cozy.

After over an hour of commuting because of the accident and snow, I got into the office a little late, just like everyone else. So no worries. The snow kept coming all day. My poor wife, as I’ve said before, walks dogs, rain, shine or snow. I feel for her on days like this. I hope there aren’t too many more days like this, for her sake.

It was another hectic day, and at lunch, I went to make my meal replacement shake…not enough!  I forgot to replenish the powder in my ziploc stash. I went to the cafeteria to check out what they had.  I was actually in luck.  There was more than usual when it came to vegan friendly stuff.  Only thing is that they didn’t really go together.  I just loaded it up on a single plate. I had quinoa and red cabbage salad, shredded carrots and hummus from the cold foods options.  I headed over to the warm sides section.  To my delight, they had some curried lentils!  Which I love.  I loaded up on that, grabbed some brussel sprouts and cooked carrots and was done building my eclectic selection of foods.  It was weird eating all these different foods in one sitting, but good and satisfying.

I worked till about 8pm.  Wifey picked me up so I didn’t have to commute back, I was very thankful for that!  For dinner she made a taco salad with a cilantro lime dressing from the Forks over Knives Cookbook.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tasty.  It is a great, light dish.  Maybe not ideal for this weather, but it was good.  Would be great for a cookout or picnic in the summer.

For dessert, we had strawberries in chocolate pudding made from rice milk from the MagBio store in Romanel, down the road, topped with cookie crumbles. Not bad, though chocolate is still the best when mixed with milk.  This stuff is a little runny.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, there you have it.  Another day done.  A vegan diet doesn’t have to be boring, tasteless or unvaried, and I think these past nine days have proven that.  I’m actually eating more varied now than when I was before. I think it forces you to try new things and gets you out of always making the same few, go-to dishes in your arsenal.  It’s a lot of fun trying to find new recipes to try out, and even more fun when you find those great ones.  What do you think?

One Response to “Day 9”

  1. Isabelle February 12, 2013 at 8:57 am #

    well done !

Leave a Reply

