Day 7 – One Week Down!

9 Feb

So, the end of today brings us to one week completed on a complete vegan diet. So far it hasn’t been too hard. It has actually been too smooth.  I’m waiting for my first hiccup, but we’ll see when that comes.

Started off the day with bread and soy cream cheese and coffee.

We had an acupuncture appointment in Neuchatel, where my Aunt runs her practice.  The drive is about 45 minutes to get there.  My wife, who started her own little business called Fuzzie Friends Lausanne, had a client she had to tend to in the morning before we could go to Neuchatel.  She does dog walking, dog boarding at our house and caring for cats while their owners are away.

The reason we are going to the acupuncturist, is that we’ve been having a little trouble getting pregnant and are trying every avenue to help things along.  The way my aunt puts it “you need a healthy pot of soil for a good healthy plant to grow.”  That makes a lot of sense. So, we are also hoping that this healthier diet will also help things along.

We made it over to Neuchatel at about 10:30 for our appointment.  As we were walking, we noticed some booths open selling Chinese and Tibetan products and food (in celebration for Chinese New Year). So, when we were done, we snacked on Tibetan vegetarian “MoMos.”  Which we made sure there was no eggs or dairy in.  They were pretty tasty, probably because it was smothered in some tasty tomato sauce.

We got back to Lausanne around 2pm and ate lunch over at my parents’ place.  They are very good sports and have always accommodated my wife’s vegetarian diet in the past.  My awesome mom always makes a vegetarian version of whatever meal she makes when we go over for her.  Today, she just made a totally vegan lunch, rice noodles in soup with shitake mushrooms, chives and fried shallots and fried garlic. It definitely hit the spot because it was so cold today.  Nothing like piping hot soup on a cold day!

As I promised, since my wife made all the dinners this week, I put myself in charge of dinner.  So, I headed to the store to get all the ingredients.  One thing about Switzerland, Saturday absolutely sucks to go shopping!  Why?  Because store hours during weekdays are 8am-7pm and closed on Sundays, doesn’t leave much time for the working person to shop for food.  SOOOO, Saturday is pure chaos in shops.  So, after braving the supermarket, I got home to prepare dinner.

While I prepped the food, we browsed Netflix and decided to watch Vegucated, which is a documentary on being vegan…how appropriate!  If you haven’t watched it, you should. I find that, even if you eat meat, as I very well may go back to after these thirty days, you should be informed about what the meat industry does to the environment, well-being of animals, and your own health!  This documentary is well put together and doesn’t have that preachy tone to it.  It lays out the facts in a very matter-of-fact kind of way.

By the time the movie was done, dinner was in the oven and almost ready to go.  Here is what we had for dinner.

Image

Image

Jamaican Vegetable Medley and Coconut Rice

There was a little spiciness to it and had tempeh as the “meat.”  I think this is the best that tempeh has tasted in any of the recipes I’ve tried.  The coconut rice was awesome too.  I got both these recipes from 30 Minute Vegan which I bought from Amazon.  I’ll have to do a quick post sometime on all of our recipe books that I bought on a shopping spree using an Amazon gift card I got for Christmas.

My wife’s sweet tooth (with the help of my suggestion) called her to the kitchen to make vegan snickerdoodles from one of our other books, The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions. Eating them now:

Image

They taste like Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal.  If only I could dunk them in milk.  😦

Well, that’s it for now.  Going to watch a little Dr. Who and then to bed.  I’m going snowboarding tomorrow with some friends.  Should be interesting to see what my options for lunch will be up there…they will probably be eating fondue, another weakness of mine.  Guess that’s what I’ll be writing about tomorrow.  Good night!

One Response to “Day 7 – One Week Down!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another Pleasant Valley Sunday…SOTW « The Swiss Wife-Style - February 10, 2013

    […] husband cooked dinner last night, and it was good!    He made a dish using tempeh, and it was the first time I actually […]

Leave a Reply

