Day 1

3 Feb

Ok.  So today was a good day to start.  Sunday.  I had the luxury of starting out with a day at home, and have to be at work early tomorrow, so no chance for me to go to any of the Super Bowl parties going on (starts at 12:30am here in Switzerland).  Only way I would watch it is if the Skins were playing…maybe next year.  SOO…no temptation of wings, chili, burgers, mozzarella sticks, etc.  I would have hated sitting there with my celery sticks sans blue cheese, dipless potato chips, corn chips and salsa and guac…though I do love my guacamole.  Anyway, back to day one:

It went pretty well.  I had oatmeal and coffee for breakfast.  Oatmeal was basically steel cut oats, crushed almonds, cacao nibs, dried cranberries and agave syrup.  My coffee was basic drip coffee with a little bit of quinoa milk (from a powder).  Not the same without milk or cream, but it was ok.  Coconut milk has probably been the best replacement for milk in coffee.

For lunch I made this sandwich spread that took five minutes to make.  I took a can of chick peas, olive oil, parsley, dijon mustard, freshly chopped garlic, lemon juice, black pepper, cayenne pepper and salt and mixed it in my food processor.  I used the metal blade to blend it to a semi-smooth consistency.  Put this paste on some whole wheat toast, topped it with sliced cucumber, sprouts and some mixed salad greens.  I ate this with some soup my wife made the other day.  I was quite happy with this little lunch.  The sandwich spread was very tasty and you can always spruce it up with other things. I might try some dill and onion next time.

For dinner, I made a Korean dish that I’d been craving for a while.  It’s called japchae, which is a stir-fried noodle dish.  I used this recipe as a guide, replacing the beef with some home-made seitan I made.  I’ve been experimenting with my seitan recipe and it’s been progressively getting better each time I make some.  This last batch, I boiled it in Better Than Bouillon, Vegetarian, No Beef Base from Iherb.com, which is my go-to site for a lot of ingredients and supplements.  Here in Switzerland, it’s hard to find a variety of ingredients.  I always check here first.  So replacing the beef totally “veganized” this recipe.  You could try other alternatives such as tempeh or tofu.  I’d have to say it came out better than I thought it would.  I had to add a little more soy sauce and sesame oil because I think I made more quantity than what the original recipe called for…so add to taste until you are happy with it if you try this recipe out.  Here is what the finished dish looked like for me.

Image

What do you think?  Look good?

So, I had two helpings, so I don’t know if a vegan diet will help me lose weight.  I’ll have to cut down the portions if I want that to happen.

My wife and I had our first craving that we couldn’t give into on this vegan experiment…chocolate.  We tend to have a little chocolate every night after dinner, we are in Switzerland after all.  So tonight we had to settle for a tasty orange…what a bummer that was!  It was good, but not the same as having that sweet chocolate taste.  Oh, we did have some cotton candy after that 😛

Ha ha, can’t be perfect, but at least it was still vegan.

Well, that was day 1.  Bout to go to bed.  Let’s see how tomorrow goes.  True test will be lunch time.  I’ll be at work, so I would like to see what I can eat from the cafeteria.  Guess we’ll find out tomorrow.  I don’t have to worry about dinner because my awesome wife has already set up our dinners for the week. À demain!

3 Responses to “Day 1”

  1. Amanda February 6, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    Coconut milk is a really good replacement. I love to bake, and I have used it as a replacement for milk in cakes. It works wonderful, adds a certain moisture and creaminess that is delicious.
    I made my own almond milk the other day (still have to post the results) but it was delicious, though I did have to add honey and cinammon, I guess it’s a matter of getting used to it.
    BTW with the rests of the nut milk I made hummus, a similar chickpea spread. Nothing goes to waste. If you need inspiration Sarah Britton from my new roots has lots of ideas + explanations.

    Here’s the recipe for the nut pulp hummus

    http://mynewroots.org/site/2011/08/waste-not-want-not-raw-nut-pulp-hummus-2/

    And here an inspiring TED talk where you see how to make your own nut milk:

    And, I believe vegan chocolate exists. You just have to look for it. If I find some I will let you know and ask your postal address to send you some.

    • dbrunner281 February 6, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

      Yeah, there is vegan chocolate available. We just hadn’t had any at that time for the instant gratification. We were good last night though, no chocolate. Just fruit.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 22 – Indian Lunch and Sushi Night! | 30 Day Vegan - February 25, 2013

    […] top of this, my mom mad jap chae.  The same noodle dish I made a while back. Mama’s food is always better of […]

Leave a Reply

